true value

True Value

I had a dream, and in that dream I owned a pot made of gold.  While in that dream I grew thirsty. A man appeared and told me to take my pot to the spring and fill it with water to drink.  “No”, I said what if the water ruins my golden pot.

While still in that dream I grew hungry.  A woman appeared and told me to go to the fields and fill my pot with beans to cook for food.  “No”, I said again.  What if by cooking the food my pot gets ruined.

At last an old man appeared and told me to sell my golden pot and use the money to buy a pot that would be useful for living.  “No”, I yelled.  They will not pay me what it is worth.

My life ended in that dream and death separated me from my golden pot that I valued so much.

Be it true or a dream, we place value on things that are not useful or necessary and we only have one lifetime to find out if we are right as to what has true value

Written by Roberto Juarez

 

This entry was posted in short story, true value, Uncategorized, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

